Kia Optima Forums banner

1 - 20 of 358 Posts

·
Administrator
2019 Corvette ZR1
2,703 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This thread is for Window Tinting information, discussion and pictures. It is intended to provide basic information, links to specific topics regarding tints, laws, and a few current Forum discussions. I am by no means an expert on the subject - just trying to get control over many threads on the same topic. The Forums are experiencing rapid growth in membership and with that comes many questions on a number of topics - this topic is just one of the them.

Unfortunately there are many open discussions regarding this topic - merging threads would make those threads that are open very difficult to follow and confusing. Some discussions have pictures, some discuss pricing, some discuss the type of films, and some have questions without answers. Hopefully this sticky will provide a starting point for those of you contemplating window tint or those that just want to educate themselves on the subject.

The information links provided are not meant to be an exhaustive listing. I am sure there are many other good sources of information on the topic that may be helpful. If you have a specific link that you think should be included please post it up and I will add it to this post to keep it easy to use.

Let's see if we can get pictures of tinting posted up in this thread, preferably a full side or 3/4 angle, with the type of film used and the percent tint included in the post.

Why Tint?

There are many reasons to tint your car from protecting against health concerns, safety and privacy reasons, as well as preserving your investment in your car. A few top reasons to tint:

1. Avoid overheating – the interior can be up to 60% cooler during hot summer days.

2. Protect your skin – Harmful UV rays from the sun can cause skin cancer. Tinting can block up to 99% of these damaging rays.