Kia Optima Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2015 KIA Optima
850 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sup guys this is my first tutorial, so be easy on me if its not that good.

So what this basically is, is retaining your factory USB and AUX ports when switching out your head unit with an aftermarket one. Depending on what aftermarket stereo you go with this might and might not work for you. Some stereos have the USB and AUX ports on the face plate. Some more expensive ones usually have multiple USB and AUX port on the rear. My setup is different from all of yours, but its the same concept. Also this works on both UVO and NON-UVO systems.

I am by no means a professional. Do this on your own risk.

--Things you'll need--

Right angle Male 3.5mm jack to Female RCA jack -some stereos dont need this. Check yours before you buy.
Right angle Male USB to Female USB -depending on your setup you might not need this.
Axxess AX-HYKIAUSB
***2T100 Module

***If you have a NON-UVO system you dont need the 2T100 module as yours already comes with it. If you have a UVO system you will need to buy the 2T100 module. I dont have a part number mine didn't have a part number when I bought mine. If someone can provide the part number that would be awesome.

This is what I got from eBay. It was from a salvaged Optima (may it RIP). You can search on eBay for "Kia optima usb" until I can find the part number for the module.

To Start you will need to get access to the Multimedia Jack. Just pull up on the shift boot, then pull right up on the shiftier surrounding (dont know the name of it.) It takes a little force.

Next you will need to release the MultiMedia jack. Simply push on the sides on both sides. This takes a little force.

You dont have to do this part. But I wanted to look the same as before. I opened it up to change the face. Simply pry on the little tabs and it will release.

Next you grab your adapters that I mention at the beginning and just plug them in.