Kia Optima Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am the new owner of a used 2011 Kia Optima.

I bought my Kia Optima because I heard great reliability reviews and I needed a somewhat newer and decent car with great gas mileage because I will be starting College soon.

I bought the car from a used car dealership for roughly $5000 USD.It had no problems, at least not what my eyes and ears could see/hear and it drove perfectly fine.

On my way home from the dealership, I was on the highway and noticed the Check Engine light come on (error code P0014)

2 days later after I bought it, I went to go get the oil changed as well as spark plugs, I also replaced the crankshaft sensor due to error code P0014. After doing this, I got home to run inside and grab my phone charger before I started work (I'm also a DoorDash driver). I come back out to the car and start it, only to hear the most horrible knocking/clunk noise Ive ever heard in my life. This scared me, I almost started crying because I thought I had bought a piece of crap. I did some research after leaving my mechanic (my car was in limp mode) and used my brothers code reader because the check engine light was flashing and I got error code P1326, I saw that there was an engine recall and warranty, but I did not think I'd be getting a new engine. I am expected to receive my car back in a few days, but I guess my question to people who have been through this is:

How did your car run after it received its new engine? Did it feel as if it just came off the lot?
Was your engine brand new or refurbished?
Should I attempt to sue the used car dealership from which I bought the car from?
(We believe they intentionally turned off the check engine light before purchase)

·
Registered
2011 Kia Optima
3,375 Posts