Kia Optima Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Kia Optima EX Premium Plus
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, this is my first time posting on this thread.

I bought a 2017 Kia Optima EX (although inside the driver door frame it was manufactured in October 2016) and I love it as my first car. I got a free battery check at my usual mechanic and he said the battery is excellent, this was July 2019. I got my 45K service done today and the guy told me my battery health was 0 and I needed to get it replaced, it'll cost me $309 for the battery itself. I haven't had issues except recently it got cold and it took about a good 5 seconds for my car to start after be left outside overnight.

Should I be concerned about my battery at all?

·
Registered
2011 Kia Optima
1,524 Posts
Have seen batteries last a long time, well past the 3 year old mark, but then again have seen batteries fail within that period, so guess one must always be concerned with a 3 year old battery.
Doesn't make much sense that the battery tested 0 and car still operating fine, so If a local parts store e.g. AutoZone is available, have them test the battery.

Although not the perfect way to test the battery, but if you have a multimeter, check the voltage after the car has been sitting, and look for @12.5/12.6 volts.

·
Registered
2012 Black SX Prem. & Tech.
1,538 Posts
I just replaced my battery. It's totally doable yourself. You'll save $200.

As others pointed out, the battery can degrade quickly, so it's possible both of your estimates were correct. Maybe you can still make your existing battery last through winter, but it's inconvenient if it dies when you are out and about.

But because it takes 5 minutes to install, and it's less than $100 for a new one, why not just get a 3rd opinion from the local auto parts store to confirm the old one is bad, and install the new one yourself? You just need a socket wrench.