Kia Optima Forums banner

1 - 20 of 265 Posts

·
1,401 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright gang, I figured I would do a DIY for everyone in hopes to save people some money. The installation is very easy. Front is pretty much like an MacPherson style assembly and the rear is similar to that of BMW's and quite a few others. .

Total time for me was about 2 hours with taking a ton of pics. I have been a tech and working on cars for many years so you might not knock it out as quick. It should take you no longer than 4 hours with taking your time and doing it right. For fun I took a video of me taking the passenger side front completely off. From start to finish it took me 3 minutes and 30 seconds.

Alright the details-

Time: 2-4 hours depending on Experience
Difficulty: 2 out of 5

Tools Needed:
-Air Compressor (this is not 100% needed but makes things go quickly)
-Ratchet of course
-19mm Socket
-17mm Socket
-14mm Socket
-12MM socket
-Crescent wrench or Open end wrenches

FRONT:

Step 1) Break loose lug nuts (just loose, not all the way out)

Step 2)Jack up front end of the car (both sides) and put it on jack stands

Step 3) Remove wheel to gain access to the suspension

Step 4) Remove two 12mm screws that hold on the Brake Line and Speed Sensor wire brackets

Step 5) Remove 19mm nut from sway bar link. Then swing the sway bar link out of the way. ( i put nut back on just so I dont lose it, as you can see in pic)
First pic you see here is overview of Step 5 and Step 6

Step 6) Remove two 19mm bolts that hold the strut to the knuckle. When you remove these two nuts, the knuckle will be free so be sure to put something under it to support it up.

Step 7) From the engine bay; pop off the cap on the top of the strut assembly. Then remove the 3 14mm nuts. When removing the last 14mm nut, make sure you are holding the strut up from inside the wheel well, or it will just fall. At this point the entire strut assembly will be free and you will be able to swing it out.