Kia Optima Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to the thread and happy optima owner I just got the car 2018 Kia optima Fe and have noticed a random headlight twitch. Kia wants $80 to look at it even though warranty is good still. Here's the deal I keep my headlight switch on auto on and the switch will randomly turn to off selection by itself and no I didn't bump the switch on accident. It will do it in the day and at night when driving the light just shut off and then turn back on by themselves. I can turn the switch to off when it does it and turn it back to auto and lights come on no warning lights codes or anything maybe faulty switch on steering column??? Thanks for the help trying to save money haha

·
Registered
2018 Kia Optima
1,027 Posts
Are you saying that the headlight stalk switch somehow will physically move from the Auto position to the Off position without you having touched it at all? Hmmm maybe the detent/notch on the headlight knob is worn out just enough so that simply flicking the lever when signalling (after all, the headlight knob is on the same control lever as the turn signal) knocks the headlight switch to Off.

·
Registered
2011 Kia Optima
2,780 Posts
^ Thought the same, how the stalk go from auto to off without intervention.
With the lights on play with the stalk, forward, backward, up, down, and see any results. I've seen the stalk being bad has caused the fog/driving lights to go on/off, or not come on at all, but headlights? Guess it's possible.

·
Your K5 Optima Vendor
2020 Audi R8 V10+ & Tesla Model X P100D
28,952 Posts
Welcome to the Optima Forums.

Congrats on getting your 2018 Optima.

I think what you are saying, if I understand correctly, is that the lights will turn to the off position even though the stalk itself is still set to the auto position, is that right?