Kia Optima Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

DISCLAIMER / WARNING:

I am NOT an electrical engineer! While I know electronics fairly well, and I know how to read schematics, my math on this stuff isn't always perfect. From what I can tell, the current board (which works in unison with the HVAC), has plenty of power to run the super bright LEDs WITHOUT changing any power module or resistors. The current board uses super bright PLCC-4 in combination with PLCC-2 LEDs. From everything that I have found and read the PLCC-4 LEDs use more power than the PLCC-2, which would call for an increase in power of all. In addition, the LEDs that typically use the most power are blue and white - half of the board already uses white LEDs, thus creating a perfect platform to work off of. I have measured, remeasured, and tested this process very thoroughly. Everything indicates that more than enough power is available for a simple swap.

Please DO NOT post here, or message me about the differences between wattage (power), voltage (volts), or amperage (resistance). I already know these things. In this write up, I am speaking in GENERAL terms, so everyone can understand.

COMPLETE THIS DIY AT YOUR OWN RISK! I take NO responsibility for things you mess up, the differences in circuit boards, or any other misfortune that may happen.

As long as you have the tools needed, a slightly steady hand (I don't have surgeon hands, but I can keep them steady), and a base understanding of how to solder, then this write up will give you the knowledge on HOW to complete this modification.

If you know nothing about soldering, this DIY is NOT recommended for you. Please advise someone about soldering, or maybe even hire someone to do it for you.