Kia Optima Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I’m new on this forum and I’ve read through it for quite a long time good stuff. I have a question for everybody or anybody that reads this.I have a 2012 Optima SX I wrecked it one sides gouged up pretty bad. I also have a 2011 SX In perfectly good condition with a brand new engine.
I’d like to knowIf it’s reasonable to pull the moonroof out of the 2012 and install it on my 2011. I’ve been a mechanic for 30 years and I unders cars very well.I’ve also installed all types of glassWindshields side windows you name it I’ve been trained on how to install them in school buses etc. but I’m not familiar with Kia’s assembly process.
As a sidenote I would like to pull the technology package out of the 2012 and install that in my 2011 as well. I’ve had the dash almost completely apart replacing that isolator underneath the motor for the steering and that was quite simple. So is any of this reasonable to attempt or is the electrical system completely different as a generic I’m just not sure I haven’t torn into it now not sure if I would end up biting off more than I can chew.
I could use some solid advice if anybody has attempted this or has knowledge of it thanks. Names Eric by the way

·
Registered
2011 Kia Optima
3,398 Posts
Anything is possible, but as far as the sunroof, you'd be better off changing the entire roof over, and with the other items, just strip everything down and install the 2012 items.
A lot of work..................is it worth the time for what, maybe a $5000 car?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Anything is possible, but as far as the sunroof, you'd be better off changing the entire roof over, and with the other items, just strip everything down and install the 2012 items.
A lot of work..................is it worth the time for what, maybe a $5000 car?