Kia Optima Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Please don't hate me because I like quiet pipes on motorcycles....(I've been riding for 50 years)...and don't get all "fan-boy" on me when I say the Optima is a noisy car.

It is.

It's not my "opinion", it's a matter of fact. Reviewers and auto journalists write about it. The car is not well insulated and, as a result, suffers a lot of cabin noise. Has anyone seen that YouTube of the guy who strips EVERY single layer of EVERYTHING out of his Optima....roof panels, door panels, carpet, seats, trunk liner, the whole nine yards.....and you can SEE that there's next to nothing (in the way of sound deadening material) behind any of these surfaces.

When the ceiling is removed, there's one small patch of "puffy paper" (for lack of a better term), per roof panel, the likes of which you would find in the bottom of a Styrofoam tray to catch the blood-drippings from a couple of pork chops from the supermarket.

He (they, actually, it's an entire TEAM of workers) coat the entire interior with exotic-looking "Aero" sound panels before re-assembling, much as you would a home theatre, you know, in your mansion.....and, CRIMINALLY, he doesn't publish before and after decibel readings so that you can appreciate (or not) the results of his labor. (Because TRUST me, that was a shitload of work!) https://youtu.be/0sH0TQ1sYyY

I say all this in a round-about way, to approach two questions:
1. Has anyone done anything a LITTLE less intense in order to quell the noise in their Optima's cabin?....and

2. Have you ever changed the tires on your Optima, AWAY from the super low-profile format that comes from the factory, in an effort to reduce THAT source of road/cabin noise, because that, too, is a definite contributor. (My treads are almost at that point anyway, so why not!)