Kia Optima Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been looking into buying a gun for awhile. But im not really sure how to go about this in california especially with all the laws changing.

I know I can do a online purchase and transfer to a store but what can i not get and what do i have to do in order for those to work?

sorry I'm a newbie :(

·
Registered
71 Posts
I would start by buying from a local gun shop. They will know what you can buy and you will get a lot of free info. Some ranges will allow you to rent a gun. Try that a few times to get a feel for what you like. It needs to be comfortable to hold and fire.

Also consider the cost of the ammo. You need a lot of range time if you are going to own a gun.

·
Registered
163 Posts
Ive been looking into buying a gun for awhile. But im not really sure how to go about this in california especially with all the laws changing.

I know I can do a online purchase and transfer to a store but what can i not get and what do i have to do in order for those to work?

I would suggest joining a forum dedicated to California gun owners to do some research on laws as well as shops in your area with the best customer service, selection and of course pricing. In short, as mentioned above rent as many different brands in a couple common calibers to find what is best suited for the role this firearm will play in your life (target , home defense, competitive shooting, etc.). You should consider taking hunter's safety or basic gun handling course prior to renting to start your journey if you haven't already.

Forum: Calguns.net - Powered by vBulletin

CA state approved gun list: Roster of Handguns Certified for Sale - Firearms Division - California Dept. of Justice - Office of the Attorney General

Basic summary of handgun laws by state. Its a good reference point but not all inclusive so be sure to double check state official references : http://www.handgunlaw.us/states/california.pdf