Kia Optima Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2014 Kia Optima SX turbo. I had been keeping up with my oil changes for years until 2020. We can all agree 2020 was a year from ****. I am currently 2 oil changes behind and I hate it. My dad is going to teach me how to change the oil myself which I am more than willing. Since I’m so behind on the oil change my question is what brand should I buy for the oil and is there anything else I should buy since I’m so behind to help? Thanks Dani

·
Registered
2013 optima sx
92 Posts
I have a 2014 Kia Optima SX turbo. I had been keeping up with my oil changes for years until 2020. We can all agree 2020 was a year from ****. I am currently 2 oil changes behind and I hate it. My dad is going to teach me how to change the oil myself which I am more than willing. Since I’m so behind on the oil change my question is what brand should I buy for the oil and is there anything else I should buy since I’m so behind to help? Thanks Dani
I use valvoline 5w 40 synthetic, i don’t know how well that will work with a stock optima but Mine is highly modified and it runs great.

·
Registered
2018 Kia Optima
1,147 Posts
Generally speaking, as long as regular/scheduled oil changes are performed using the proper oil weight it doesn't really matter what brand oil you choose to use other than perhaps leaning towards going with one of the more reputable brands (e.g., Castrol/Mobil/Valvoline/Pennzoil--or if money is no object, Royal Purple/Amsoil).