Kia Optima Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good afternoon,I am a newbie to posting on here!!! I sure hope that someone else has experienced this issue. I purchased a new 2020 Kia Optima EX Premium with 22 miles on it in June of 2020. I have had issues with the car jerking, like it's not getting enough gas when I accelerate from a stop. This does not happen every time I stop & start, but enough to know that a car isn't supposed to drive like this. I have taken it to the dealer NUMEROUS times, but they cannot "replicate the issue" and it's not throwing a code, so they cannot fix it. I still have the same problem a lot, and as much as I love, love, love my Kia, this has been a very disappointing new car experience for me. These issues occur between 1-2 RPM's then will smooth out and drive normally.

Has anyone else experienced anything else similar to this? My 1 year bumper to bumper is close to running out and I need this issue resolved before then. Suggestions anyone? (Early on in this process I did try, per Kia's instructions, running 4 tanks of top tier premium gas, this made zero difference).

·
Registered
2018 KIA Optima
153 Posts
Try different driving modes. I know my 18 sxl in sport "bucks" a bit at lower rpms. Eco smooths it out.

·
Registered
2019 Kia Optima Lx
32 Posts
The 2020 Optima Ex has the DCT transmission, sounds like you are getting clutch shudder when taking off. Your bumper to bumper warranty is 5 years 60k miles

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Try different driving modes. I know my 18 sxl in sport "bucks" a bit at lower rpms. Eco smooths it out.
Thank you for the suggestion, I have tried that, several different times, sadly, it did not make any difference. The "jerking" still occurs.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·