Kia Optima Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2011 Optima Hybrid
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

My '11 Optima Hybrid only has 61k miles on it, 35k of which is the last almost 6 years. I've been working from home for 5 years hence the low miles, as it only really gets driven infrequently around town or to the airport when needed. I'm now switching jobs and will be driving about 30 miles daily. My questions are around the 12v calcium battery as well as the hybrid battery. What kind of life expectancy can I expect on them? They are both original, and while the miles aren't high, the age is nearing 8 years. I'm assuming the 12v calcium battery will need replacing sooner rather than later because of that age, where-as I probably have another 5+ years on the hybrid battery which I'm guessing I won't have the car that long.

Looking for some advise on what to do about the 12v calcium battery, mainly. The multi-point inspection 1,500 miles ago came back all green, so I expect everything with it was fine, but I don't want to be stuck on the road during my commute.

Thanks in advance.

·
Super Moderator
2012 Kia Optima
3,434 Posts
Batteries are batteries and their internals can go out at any given time however, with my main Kia battery it seems to last about 36 months before it goes. As for the main hybrid battery you will get plenty of indication of issues on your dash as that thing is designed for at least 10 years. Hopefully another member can chime in with further info.

·
Registered
2011 Optima Hybrid
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, I'm presuming the good status from the last multi-point means that even at 7.5 years old, the original 12v is fine, but not sure how far I want to push it.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Lucky you, I only got 24 months and 4 days before my factory OE battery went out on my 2012 Optima SX.