Kia Optima Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For a few weeks I've been hearing a growing whump-whump sound on the highway that I was told is a wheel bearing that will need replacement. Decided to have my mechanic go ahead with it in the last couple of days.

When he took the wheel off to do it, he discovered that things had kind of fused (he suggested winter road salts were the trigger) and he couldn't get the bearing/hub/axle apart from one another no matter what they tried. He ultimately had to use a torch, then replace the entire axle, hub and bearing. This is my understanding (I'm not a mechanic). Annoying and more expensive, but such is life sometimes, I guess. Have used him for years for all of our cars, so I don't have any concerns whatsoever that his experience is anything less than honest. I felt bad for all the hassle he faced for an otherwise simple problem.

A few hours after picking it up, I'm downtown and decided suddenly I wanted to change my destination, doubling back a few blocks the opposite way to grab something. I stopped, let traffic go by and then was starting to pull a big hard, slow u-turn since the road is very wide there. Just as I got into the hard left turn (the side that had just been replaced today), this horrible shaking and banging noise started. I jammed on the brakes. Some people in the parking lot I was facing stopped dead at the commotion and asked what the heck was wrong with my car.

Since I was in the middle of the street, I needed to get out of the way before traffic started appearing, so I turned straight and wobbled my way into the restaurant parking lot in front of me. The whole time the car was just shaking and banging. I was picturing the front left wheel having just half snapped off or something.