Can I swap a factory Nav head unit in EX that did not come with Navigation?
  1. Welcome to Kia Optima Forum – General discussion forum for Kia Optima

    Welcome to Kia Optima Forum - a website dedicated to all things Kia Optima.

    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Kia Optima Forum today!
     
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Can I swap a factory Nav head unit in EX that did not come with Navigation?

  1. #1
    Riding Lawn Mower
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    15

    Can I swap a factory Nav head unit in EX that did not come with Navigation?

    I have an EX that has climate control but the Infinity system does not have
    Navigation and the HVAC temp setting is on a separate display down with the controls
    below the head unit. If I get the head unit and HVAC controls can it all plug
    and play? Is there another module anywhere else? Are all of the connectors there
    in the non Navigation equipped EX? Also, by chance are the head units VIN locked to the car/ ECU or something? I have a pal at work that had his car massively hailed on and it may get totaled. I told him I would give him $200 if
    I could swap it if it works.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Optima Forums
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Your K5 Optima Vendor K5 Optima Store's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Chatsworth, CA
    Posts
    27,767
    Year
    2017
    Make
    Tesla
    Model
    Model X
    Trim
    P100D
    You absolutely cannot swap out the head units on these vehicles. As far as I know it is not possible.





  4. #3
    Riding Lawn Mower
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    15
    Why is there a market for them bringing up to $1k on ebay if it is absolutely not possible? There are multiple completed items from $500-1000 for salvage take outs.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    Optima Forums
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Your K5 Optima Vendor K5 Optima Store's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Chatsworth, CA
    Posts
    27,767
    Year
    2017
    Make
    Tesla
    Model
    Model X
    Trim
    P100D
    Quote Originally Posted by pcweber View Post
    Why is there a market for them bringing up to $1k on ebay if it is absolutely not possible? There are multiple completed items from $500-1000 for salvage take outs.
    I'm not sure what you mean about a market for them. Maybe I misunderstood your original question.





  7. #5
    Experience Norm1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Tacoma WA
    Posts
    712
    Anything can be done.....just takes time, intelligence and $$$$$$$.


    2012 SWP/Beige EX, Tech/Premium, Spoiler, De/Rebadged, LED tails, 35% Tinted, 4,750K Low/High/Fogs, CHMSL Flasher, Sport Pedals, Catch Can, Mud Guards, 20mm RSB, Front Strut Bar, Custom LED DRLs, Cupholder LEDs, K&N Air Filter.

  8. #6
    2014 ROTY SickBlack5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DeLand, FL.
    Posts
    2,568
    Year
    2013
    Make
    Kia
    Model
    Optima
    Trim
    SX with P&T
    Quote Originally Posted by Norm1 View Post
    Anything can be done.....just takes time, intelligence and $$$$$$$.
    ^^^ This. I was going to put a UVO unit in to replace the base stock radio. I decided against it because of the cost involved which is why I sold the unit. It can be done though, and it will be easier if you have the end of the original wiring harness so you do not have to splice into yours.

  9. #7
    Riding Lawn Mower
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    15
    I assumed since ebay has completed items that sold, people are swapping them in fairly easy/ plug & play. . Here are a few links to sold. 2011 2012 Kia Optima Navigation Display Screen LKQ | eBay 2012 Kia Optima Used Navigation Unit Screen | eBay 2010 2012 Kia Optima OEM Touch Screen Navigation System with GPS Receiver | eBay

  10. #8
    Riding Lawn Mower
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    15
    OK, I did some more reading, etc. My EX has the UVO system. I am asking if the larger screen Navigation system is plug and play to replace the UVO system?
    Last edited by pcweber; 06-02-2013 at 07:07 AM.

  11. #9
    Riding Lawn Mower
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    15
    I found a few pics. The base UVO pictured on right is what I have. I am asking if the Nav UVO system on left will direct replace the base UVO head unit if I swap the HVAC controls too.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Can I swap a factory Nav head unit in EX that did not come with Navigation?-77.jpg   Can I swap a factory Nav head unit in EX that did not come with Navigation?-2012-kia-optima-hybrid-uvo-system-climates-control-interior-view.jpg  

  12. #10
    02/2014 ROTM RevDoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Near Austin, Texas
    Posts
    1,260
    Model
    2013 Optima SX
    And the answer is still no.

    You could get a UNAVI unit, though.
    https://www.optimaforums.com/forum/74...tion-unit.html

    (But obviously not at your $200 price point. )
    Last edited by RevDoc; 06-02-2013 at 09:07 AM.

  13. Remove Advertisements
    Optima Forums
    Advertisements
     

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [EX] : K5 HYBRID HEAD LIGHT swap in an EX???
    By JaseKalaMaris in forum Optima Appearance and Body Modifications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-01-2013, 04:32 PM
  2. Another China Head Unit
    By 2013-optima in forum Entertainment: Audio, Navigation, and Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-19-2013, 05:45 AM
  3. Subwoofer to stock Head Unit?
    By antagonist in forum Entertainment: Audio, Navigation, and Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-12-2012, 04:50 PM
  4. Anyone replace their head unit on the 2011 LX?
    By molson622 in forum Entertainment: Audio, Navigation, and Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-07-2012, 09:38 AM
  5. What head unit/media center would you use with this?
    By Southpaw32 in forum Entertainment: Audio, Navigation, and Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-20-2012, 10:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.3.0