$template_hook[AutoInsuranceQuotebox_RON_AUTO]

Amp and Sub install to stock head unit w/o nav or infinity system
$template_hook[AutoInsuranceQuotebox_RON_AUTO]
  1. Welcome to Kia Optima Forum – General discussion forum for Kia Optima

    Welcome to Kia Optima Forum - a website dedicated to all things Kia Optima.

    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Kia Optima Forum today!
     
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Amp and Sub install to stock head unit w/o nav or infinity system

  1. #1
    02/2012 ROTM DanLR2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Sykesville, MD
    Posts
    83

    Thumbs up Amp and Sub install to stock head unit w/o nav or infinity system

    2011 KIA Optima Amp Installation to stock head unit W/O Nav or Infinity sound system
    -First remove dash and all components that connect to dash. (Dash removal is already explained in earlier thread)
    -Yes take the head unit out (its going to be the best and easiest way to hook up your amp).
    -Run red power wire from battery through the fire wall. There is enough space in the grommet under the dash to fit a power wire. NO DRILLING needed.
    -The factory head unit doesn’t have RCA jacks on the back so you’ll need to get a LOC (line out converter) basically its an adapter that turn the signal from your speaker wires to RCA.
    -I found the wiring diagram at www.kiatechinfo.com very useful. All you need to do is register and you’ll have access to the whole cars harnesses and wiring schematics.
    -To install LOC, if your looking at the harness clip face up you’ll need to splice into the RR+&-,RL+&- which are located at the 4 corners for the harness. Once you get you LOC spliced and installed run your RCA’s to it from you amp and you’ll be good to go.
    -Now you need to run your remote (switch) wire, so that the amp knows to turn off and on when the vehicle is turned on and off. Many people do this different ways but I found the easiest way to do it was to splice into the cig lighter positive wire. “NOT BLACK”. Make sure you put this clip back on all the way or you’ll end up throwing a check engine light and your car will run very sluggish.
    -Run that remote wire back to you amp and you should be good to go.
    -Grounding your amp in the trunk, make sure you grind the paint off of a concealed area in the trunk and connect your ground to the amp.
    -Make sure you test your speakers and amp. To make sure everything works. FYI, do not ground your LOC, some LOC’s may come with a brown ground wire, do not ground it or you will experience issues with check engine lights, push button start lights and so on. FYI- I ran my RCA,POWER, and REMOTE wire all down the same side of the car and no hissing or humming. Worked for me but I know you’ll find conflicting info on this.

    If yall have futher questions message me..Keep in mind this is my first time doing this and am not a tech GURU by any means
    ---SYKESVILLE, MD-------
    2011 Ebony Black SX Turbo
    ---Born 10/2011--------
    (Poor Mans) LED DRL's
    Painted Calipers
    20% Tint all around
    50% Front windshield tint
    Filter Vented BOV
    K&N Air Filter
    Passport Escort 8500i built-in Radar detector
    18' Pizza Rim
    Every package you can get I GOT IT!!!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Optima Forums
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    OptimaForums Veteran
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Elkton, VA
    Posts
    1,567
    Year
    2013
    Make
    Kia
    Model
    Optima
    Trim
    EX
    Did you take any pics?

  4. #3
    Driver's License
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Round Rock TX
    Posts
    366
    What size pwr wire did u run? Will 4awg fit through the firewall grommet?
    2012 Black Noir Pearl Hyundai Gegesis 5.0 W/Technology PKG
    SOLD - 2011 Snow White Optima SX w/Premium Touring package
    2008 Magnetic Gray Metallic Pontiac G8 GT

  5. Remove Advertisements
    Optima Forums
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Learner's Permit DoubleN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    245
    Do yourself a favor and invest a few bucks in a sound processor. Like these:

    Factory Sound Processors at Crutchfield.com
    ///Double "N"
    2011 Optima LX (Spicy Red) - 55 Watt DDM HID's
    6000K Diode Dynamics Bulbs - Fog Retrofit (Next Spring)
    Tint (35% Front 20% Rear this Fall) - 20's and lowered (Next Spring...maybe)
    26k miles and counting...

  7. #5
    02/2012 ROTM DanLR2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Sykesville, MD
    Posts
    83
    Quote Originally Posted by JBoogie View Post
    What size pwr wire did u run? Will 4awg fit through the firewall grommet?
    I ran a 8 guage and it fit fine!
    ---SYKESVILLE, MD-------
    2011 Ebony Black SX Turbo
    ---Born 10/2011--------
    (Poor Mans) LED DRL's
    Painted Calipers
    20% Tint all around
    50% Front windshield tint
    Filter Vented BOV
    K&N Air Filter
    Passport Escort 8500i built-in Radar detector
    18' Pizza Rim
    Every package you can get I GOT IT!!!

  8. #6
    Riding Lawn Mower
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    36
    What line out converter did you end up using & how many amps did you install with it? I'm also looking at installing a sound system but with my factory stereo to maintain all functionality.
    - 2012 Ebony Black Kia Optima SX 2.0L Turbo
    - 20% Tint Front & Rear
    - Rebadged

  9. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    7
    I've had my 2011 EX now for a week and love everything about it......except the stereo. Sound is just lacking. I was wondering what rig you installed and if you think it's improved any. Did you replace the stock speakers as well?

  10. #8
    Riding Lawn Mower
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    51
    You don't have to tap in behind the head unit. Just tap in at the rear speakers. Way easier.
    2011 Snow White Pearl SX Premium
    view my photos on: Flickr

  11. #9
    KDMnation Chicago JMJ K5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Kenosha,WI
    Posts
    780
    So you don't have to take apart your dash to install an amp?
    2011 Kia Optima LX
    20" MSR 042 Rims//Eibach springs//OEM mudflaps//OEM DRL's//OEM foglights//OEM SX grille
    OEM LED tail lights//35w 6000k HID Low beams and Fogs
    Debadged Optima and GDI badges//"K" badges//20% Tint front/back
    LED's - map, dome, reverse, license plate and trunk//Red ring LED cup holders
    Red LED mood lights//Red programmable LED's in front and back foot wells
    x4 Zeus Hifonics ZXi63 speakers//Concept lll SRI//M&S spoiler

  12. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lake Forest, CA
    Posts
    1,636
    You don't HAVE to... But it depends on the vehicle. Some cheap cars make it difficult to run wiring and so on without removing the dash. Most of the time, you just pull the head unit and splice everything together behind it. You'll usually have two sets of RCA's and a 9 wire(which is about 5/8") to find a path for with a 4/5 channel amplifier.

  13. Remove Advertisements
    Optima Forums
    Advertisements
     

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [FS] : SOLD Nav head unit
    By Goober2432 in forum Classified Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-12-2013, 07:23 AM
  2. [FS] : SOLD Stock UVO Head Unit
    By SickBlack5 in forum Classified Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-28-2013, 03:24 PM
  3. Subwoofer to stock Head Unit?
    By antagonist in forum Entertainment: Audio, Navigation, and Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-12-2012, 04:50 PM
  4. DIY Amp Sub and Speaker Replacement with Infinity Head Unit (no nav)
    By Verata in forum Entertainment: Audio, Navigation, and Electronics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-23-2012, 02:13 AM
  5. Swapping Audio Head Unit to Nav System
    By SantoriniBluePlatinum in forum Entertainment: Audio, Navigation, and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-18-2011, 02:48 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.3.0