Kia Optima Forums banner

Wastegate flutter while accelerating.. (I think)

[SX] : 
24K views 41 replies 21 participants last post by  Vince 
#1 ·
okay guys so just installed an injen short ram intake and i have the factory BOV venting to atmosphere. when I am accelerating and holding about 3/4 throttle at a steady speed I hear a bit of a flutter. keep in mind throttle is open so I don't think it's compression surge. I will include a video I recorded today. I am new to the turbo world so go easy on me lol thanks guys

2013 Kia Optima SXL wastegate flutter - YouTube

#2 ·
I don't hear anything......I think you are just hearing suction noise from the aftermarket intake.

#6 ·
That noise you hear is the bov. If you look at it you will notice there are 2 hoses connected to the bov. I pressure tested my oe bov and when i put a small amount of pressure it fluttered open frequently. Above 13lbs no flutter. . I think the factory location of the vacuum line should have been better engineered because it is influenced on venturi effect vacuum rather than actual vacuum and i believe this is what causes the issue. All in all, poor design.

#9 ·
Use the search bar and see how many topics on "flutter" have been discussed in the past 2 years...

#11 · (Edited)
What you are talking about is normal, you hear it around the 26 sec mark?

Here is an explanation already posted:
""BOV fluttter is basically leaking off boost when fluttering. In my Subaru I had, I installed a 18lb actuator that took care of that. But, the Optima sees boost near 18lbs, so something heavier would be in order. They actually make adjustable actuator bars, but doing so would throw off the volts for the ECM, causing a CEL. This would be necessary or achievable whenever there is a company that makes tuning software for the Optima.